Motorists are required to prove that they are financially capable of paying for the damages when an accident occurs while on the road. How do you prove it? It is an essential in the state of California to have an insurance while driving. Otherwise, you should pay the price for not abiding by the laws. If you think you are saving a buck by not getting an insurance. Don’t ever make the same mistakes other motorists are doing. You are only putting yourself in the edge. On the other hand, if you would dare to drive the streets of California without insurance, here’s what will happen.
It may probably be known that the sate of California is the leader when talking about inflicting penalties to a number of violations whether criminal or civil. Penalties are tame. However, this doesn’t mean that you would not have any chance of feeling the sting. There are individuals who become negligent with their actions. Drivers taking the wheel without an insurance may experience certain penalties. Among which are:
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the driver will be fined whenever caught driving without insurance.
1st offense: $100 – $200
2nd offense: $200 – $500 (not to mention, your car can be impounded else, towed)
– During this time, you will never be able to get your car back UNLESS, you have obtained an insurance and at the same time pay for the towing and the storage fees. In case you do not know, vehicle storage fees are an essential.
Legal Penalties IF You Meet an Accident
We all know that a road accident is traumatic. Believe it or not, some victims or any driver who has had a nightmare experience as he caught an accident refuse to drive at all. Sometimes, car accident lawyers in Los Angeles discuss with their clients and allow these victims to have their confidence in driving back.
Say you or a loved one have met an accident. Usually there are some common steps to follow after meeting an accident:
Step 1: You must pull off the road and come to a full stop.
Step 2: If you are still able to, call 911 and report the accident to the law enforcement officer.
Step 3: As the police arrives, he will ask you to show your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and the most crucial document – your proof of insurance.
What if you have nothing to show and prove you have an insurance? Prepare to meet your consequences.
Whether or not you have caused the accident to happen, your license can be suspended. This is the reason, getting a car accident lawyer in Los Angeles is needed. You may not be able to have our license back until four years. However, if you could provide a proof of insurance or financial responsibility, you will be able to get your license back after a year. Accident lawyers in Los Angeles have knowledge with regard to his. Other than your driver’s license, your vehicle registration can also be suspended. Having said this, the price for driving without insurance is high.